The Southern African Development Community

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a Regional Economic Community comprising 15 Member States; Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Established in 1992, SADC is committed to Regional Integration and poverty eradication within Southern Africa through economic development and ensuring peace and security.

Addressing the problem

Access to safe drinking water and to sanitation facilities is a pre-condition for achieving most of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). While it helps to reduce extreme poverty, food insecurity, and child and maternal mortality, it also has a positive influence on education, particularly for girls. Despite the progress, in sub-Saharan Africa more than 340 million people lack access to safe drinking water, and more than 500 million have no access to improved sanitation facilities.

Most of the SADC Region is characterized by high water stress, highly variable rainfall in space and time and competing demands – agriculture, mining and industry stressing water resources. In addition, the financial services sector in many countries in sub-Saharan Africa are still characterized by manifold constraints and limitations, the future potential of local financial markets for financing rural water is very significant.

In response to the World Summit on Sustainable Development (WSSD) in Johannesburg in 2002, GWP established the Programme for National IWRM Planning in Africa (or IWRM Programme) to work with governments and stakeholders in African countries in drawing up national IWRM plans. Between 2005 and 2010, the Programme involved the mobilization of many stakeholders and generated useful lessons for both facilitating IWRM planning and other national development processes.

In 2005, GTZ in cooperation with the SADC Secretariat Gabarone, Botswana, initiated a project on Transboundary Water Management in the Southern African Development Community (SADC). It involved the countries of Angola, Botswana, DR of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The approach was to setup and strengthen River Basin Organizations, information and knowledge management, platforms for cooperation, knowledge sharing and networking and Basin Management Plans.

SADC Member States
SADC Member States

Detailed information: