The Niipele sub-basin together with three other sub-basins make up the greater Cuvelai-Etosha Basin. The name Niipele originates from one of the Omirambas that flow annually after heavy rainfall. The Niipele sub-basin is located across the Ohangwena and Oshikoto Regions and includes the Okongo Constituency and larger parts of the Epembe, Eenhana, Okankolo and Omundaungilo constituencies of the eastern part of the Ohangwena region and the northern part of the Oshikoto region. The sub-basin boundaries were confirmed in January 2011 by stakeholders within the basin. The basin includes a Basin Management Committee (BMC) which ensures proper management of water as water is identified as a vulnerable yet critical resource for the development of our country. The first meeting of the sub-basin committee was held in January 2011 which covered the approval of the operational plan.

General Activities Documents Gallery Contact